Forced Rest = Holiday?

Standard

“I need a holiday” were my words last week! Meaning: I need to get away, rest, enjoy some sunshine, don’t worry about assignments or work stuff. What I got is lower back pains, so badly that Care Doctor had to come in the middle of Saturday night to give me two injections, a prescription for some drugs (which according to a friend make me sound and look drunk, not sure about that, but they defiantly knock me out) and he ordered bed rest. This was clearly not my understanding of ‘rest’. Where are the palm trees and the beach? Instead I’m lying in my bed with my feet up, hot water bottle in my back, and trying to make the most of it – reading a chick lit, sleeping, eating kit kat, watching ‘How I met your mother’ (I’m at season 4 now!), listening to Podcasts (both entertaining and challenging) and trying to be PATIENT!

The hardest part is to be taken care of…..I need people to clean my apartment before my parents arrive, who are going shopping for me, bring me soup and tell me not to move to much.

This is not a holiday, but I’m trying to accept that this is a rest my body (and mind) needs right now, and I’m learning to slow down and trust, that it’ll all work out in the end.

About Geraldine

I'm a german girl which ended up in Ireland four years ago through hilarious circumsatnces. Right now I'm working as Team manager for Elemenal a youth initative for the south-east of Ireland.

2 responses »

  1. One thing I learned the hard way is that God will find a way to slow you down when you need to whether it’s a good time for you or not. Sit back, relax, and try to enjoy the break, even though it’s not your idea of a break. And feel better! Everything else has a way of working out the way God intended.

  2. i agree with diana. it’s happened to me so many times – you know about my back problems – so i really really empathise. enjoy letting others and God minister to you in this time of need. 🙂 And get well soon, love sandra

Leave a Reply

