Weihnachtsplätzchen

Standard

They are particularly aromas I recollect Christmas with. One is the smell of freshly baked Weihnachtsplätzchen (Christmas cookies) through my parents house. Growing up baking cookies before Christmas was one of the most cherished days! I had to put on an old jumper (I was a messer when it came to playing with cookie dough), I stood on a chair to reach the counter top, and I was signing christmas songs. My mum would tell you that I wasn’t of great help, but that’s not the point when you’ re little, right?! I loved (and still do) the moment when the cookies are in the oven and they share their lovely aroma. You can smell the vanilla- sugar-cinnamon mixture and feel Christmas is coming.

So when I got home this week for my Christmas break I was delighted o bake some Vanillekipferl with my mum. Here is a picture and I wish you could smell them as I did, when I got them out of the oven!

Leave a Reply

